Skip to main content
Preloader Close


3rd International Conference on Geographical Science for Resilient Communities, Ecosystems and Livelihoods under Global Environmental Change (GORILLA) 2024


2020 Conference

Conference attendants at the 2020 International Gorilla Conference
Conference delegates at the First International GORILLA Conference


Conference Organisations

The conference was organized by the IGU Commission of Biogeography and Biodiversity, the IGU Commission on African StudiesUganda Geographical AssociationIALE African Chapter, the National Environment Management Authority (NEMA), local and regional universities. 

2020 GORILLA Conference
R-L (Prof Michael Meadows, Prof. Bernard Bashaasha, Prof. Barnabas Nawangwe) - At the opening ceremony of the 1st GORILLA Conference


Conference Topics

The conference was organized around the topics below which generally inform the global resilience and sustainability agenda. Proposals for special sessions in the conference were accepted. The conference topics were;

  1. Sustainable agricultural landscape
  2. ICTs for Sustainable Development
  3. Biogeography, Biodiversity and Ecosystem change
  4. Sustainable Land Use Management and Livelihoods
  5. Waterscapes and pollution
  6. Technology and innovations for resilient ecosystems and livelihoods
  7. Closing the loop: Water-energy-food(WEF) Nexus
  8. Sustainable Migration Spaces and Communities  
  9. Urban space and urban ecosystems
  10. Risk management: Hazards and disasters 
  11. Environmental Geography

Local Organising Committee

  1. Yazidhi Bamutaze, Makerere University
  2. Fred Babweteera, Makerere University
  3. Jerome Lugumira, National Environment Management Authority
  4. Herbert Talwana, Makerere University
  5. Benita Rumanzi, Africa Population Institute, Kampala
  6. Bob Nakileza, Makerere University
  7. David Mfitumukiza, Makerere University
  8. Edward Mwavu, Makerere University
  9. Mohammed Nabalegwa, Kyambogo University
  10. Frank Mugagga, Makerere University
  11. Fredrick Tumwine, Makerere University
  12. Buyinza Mukadasi, Makerere University

International Scientific Committee

  1. Prof. Yukiyo Himiyama : President - International Geographical Union (IGU)
  2. Prof. RB Singh, IGU Secretory
  3. Prof. Mike Meadows: University of Cape Town (South Africa)
  4. Suraj Mal: Chair, Biogeography and Biodiversity commssion
  5. Prof. Udo Schickhoff: Institute of Geography, University of Hamburg, Germany.
  6. Inocent Moyo: University of Zululand (South Africa).
  7. Oyama Shuichi: Kyoto University (Japan)
  8. Wenwu Zhao: Beijing Normal University (China)
  9. Joy Obando: Kenyatta University (Kenya)
  10. Mihai Voda: Dimitrie Cantemir University Romania
  11. Henry Bulley: City University of New York (USA),
  12. Lorraine van Blerk: University of Dundee (Scotland)
  13. Mark Cutler: University of Dundee (Scotland)
  14. Vincent Kakembo: Nelson Mandela University (South Africa)

Conference Venue

Before COVID-19, we had planned to have the conference at Speke Resort, Munyonyo, Kampala, Uganda, from the 28th to 30th May 2020. However after we deferred the conference to December 2020, we are yet to zero on the actual venue of the conference. Please note that this conference will take place in a BLENDED MODE, that is to say: part of the conference will take place virtually, and physically (for those tho will be able to make it). The conference will take place at the Protea Hotel.

Official Website of Protea Hotel

2020 GORILLA Conference

  • Topics
  • Speakers
  • Special Sessions
  • Downloads